Speeding up Scheduling with Templates Humanity HelpDesk - Speeding up Scheduling with Templates

Popular help topics: Scheduling, Setup, Time Clock, Leave Request

Speeding up Scheduling with Templates



From      Computer                                        Applies to     Manager, Supervisor, Scheduler
 

Objective

The objective of this tutorial to show you an efficient way to be able to 'Save or Bookmark' past work schedules so that they could easily be reused at any time.
 

Overview

There are two ways that you can create shifts in your schedule:

  1. Shift Templates
  2. Custom Shifts

For more information about creating custom shifts, go to Creating Shifts.
 

Things to know before you begin:

  1. You must have a manager, supervisor, or scheduler access privileges in Humanity to add, modify, or delete shift templates.
  2. Schedulers can manage shift templates for their assigned positions only.
  3. Templates can be made for daily or weekly schedules, but not monthly schedules
  4. When you edit a shift template, existing shifts that were created using that template are not updated. Future shifts scheduled with the shift template reflect the updates you make.
  5. 'Scheduler' = anyone with scheduling permissions, Supervisors and Managers can only view their own saved periods, not saved periods from others on the account.

The scenario outlined in this tutorial consists of the following building blocks:

  1. Saving the Template
  2. Copying the Template
  3. Removing the Template
  4. Modifying the Template
 

Saving the Template

 

User-added image


Step 1: Create the schedules according to your business requirements.

For more information about Creating Shifts, go to Creating Shifts or New Shift Creation Experience.

Step 2: Click the 'Star' icon to save a reference for your desired period as shown in Image 1.

 

User-added image

Image 1


Step 3: Enter a name for the template. Click 'Ok' to save the template as shown in Image 2.
 

User-added image

Image 2

Back to Top


Copying the Template

 

User-added image
 

Step 1: Select 'Copy Schedule' from Schedule Action drop-down menu as shown in Image 3.
 

User-added image

Image 3


Step 2: 'Choose the saved timeline' to reuse the template from the drop-down menu as shown in Image 4.
 

User-added image

Image 4

 

Step 3: You can either select to 'Copy shift times only' or 'Copy shift times and employee assignments' as shown in Image 5.
 

User-added image

Image 5

Step 4: If you want to clear the schedule before copying, check the box of 'Clear schedule before copying' as shown in Image 6.
 

User-added image

 

Image 6


Step 5: Click 'Copy Shifts' when finished as shown in Image 7.
 

User-added image

Image 7

Back to Top

Removing the Template

 

User-added image


Step 1: Select the timeline where you want to remove the template from the timeline bar as shown in Image 8.
Note: You can view the timeline from the saved timeline drop-down filter.

 

User-added image

Image 8


Step 2: Click on the 'Marked Star Icon' again to remove the timeline as shown in Image 9.
 

User-added image

Image 9
 

Step 3: Click 'Ok' to confirm that you want to remove the template as shown in Image 10.

User-added image
Image 10

Back to Top


Modifying the Template


Click on any shift, and it will open up the 'Shift Edit' window where you can make further changes to the shift if needed as shown in Image 11.
 

User-added image
Image 11

Back to Top

Related Articles:

  1. Creating Shifts
  2. Edit Recurring Shifts

If you have any queries, please don't hesitate to reach us at support@humanity.com. Happy Scheduling!